Everyday Spectacular

Imperfections. Ramblings. Life to the Full.

Parenting Success

Tonight was a bit of a rough one.

Imagine both kids crying in their rooms over mistakes made and dealt with today.

Imagine one of those kids telling me he figures he must be pretty close to the end of his second chances with Jesus.

Imagine the other telling me she doesn’t know if she can find peace to sleep because she’s so mad at herself.

Imagine me trying to speak grace into the turmoil, teaching truth, extending forgiveness, wrapping love, singing peace.

Imagine my momma heart crying right along with them.

Growing up can be so hard. I remember learning these lessons as a kid, but I didn’t realize how hard it would be to be the parent.

—-

I did have a bit of a success moment yesterday though. Let’s dwell on that, shall we?

I was at the grocery store with Mykah and heard this gem pop out of her mouth….

“Mom, what’s a pop-tart?”

Success, ladies and gentlemen, there you have it…that my kids will know grace, love and forgiveness but not pop-tarts.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Parenting Success

  1. Leanne on said:

    The fact that we can live through our teens, 20’s, 30’s, 40’s and so on proves that we don’t run out of second chances with Jesus! That’s GRACE! And so thankful to God that’s we don’t have to forgive ourselves for our mistakes, He did it for us! He is our peace! Phew. Bless their hearts – I hope they slept peacefully, with prayer filled and loving parents over them! Bless you Carrie and Jeff!!
    P.S. I’m with you on the pop tarts! 🙂

  2. Sarah on said:

    Hahahaha!! Oh how I love you!! Soooo incredibly true though, I would have felt so much satisfaction in that moment 🙂

Leave a comment