Everyday Spectacular

Imperfections. Ramblings. Life to the Full.

Seven

Carter turned seven yesterday. I’m pretty sure that when he was just a wee 6 pound, 5 ounce baby back on September 30, 2003, that I never imagined him as a seven year old. And yet, here we are. Seven.

When he was little and having birthday parties, Jeff and I used to gather all of OUR friends together to celebrate. On his first birthday, we even rented the clubhouse at our apartment complex in Florida to hold everyone, including the one other child that was invited, Chloe Mount. 

Over the next several years, the birthdays were held at our Florida house in the ridiculously large open living room.

When we moved to Stoney Creek, Carter told my neighbor that the reason we had left Florida was because he only had adult friends there…Which led me to enter the world of children’s birthday parties.

When he turned five shortly after moving to Ontario, we invited all the neighborhood kids over to our house. It was easy and manageable (and due to a hard drive computer crash and loss of many of my digital pictures, I can’t upload a picture of this one.)

Last year, I braved a bowling party. Let it suffice to say that I was overwhelmed by how much work it is to keep 15 (or was it 16?) hyper kids together at a bowling alley. The kids had a blast, me, not so much. I think this may have a bit to do with the fact that Mykah peed her pants as we were entering the building, and that this is not the best way to start off a night, but I digress.

This year I planned strategically. I decided to host his party at our house again, but hire someone to do a lot of the work…Enter stage-right, Mad Science of Hamilton! Tonight 15 kids between the ages of 3-9 will converge on my house to watch science experiments being conducted in my living room. Slime and cotton candy will flow freely. 

Ummmm….wait a minute. This was my brilliant idea?!?! I guess I’ll let you know how it goes!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Seven

  1. I enjoyed the slideshow and laughed seriously outloud over the bowling BD party with Mykah adding her “present” to the party. Carrie you are so funny…a gifted storyteller! Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Monica on said:

    I love the slideshow!! And it is true – the parties were all adults – but he did bank in on all the presents 😉 Happy Birthday to the most adorable boy I know!

Leave a comment