Everyday Spectacular

Imperfections. Ramblings. Life to the Full.

Guilty-Momma-Conscience

I wrote “the kids don’t seem hungry…think they would notice if I don’t make dinner tonight?” as my status update on Facebook yesterday.

Seven of my friends “liked” this, and I wondered if I could blame them for any complaints I did receive from my children.

One of my friends wrote “They wouldn’t notice until bedtime. Then they would be suddenly starving. “, which really is about the truest thing I know about kids and eating.

They want to eat at the most inconvenient times, like at least three times a day. And usually when I have another agenda for that time frame, like a nap. For me.

I did feed them, by the way.

Eggs in a basket and leftover roasted vegetables.

And they ate.

Ok, they ate a FEW bites.

Internally I screamed, “I KNEW IT! I KNEW YOU WEREN’T HUNGRY. WHY DID I TAKE THAT SILLY MOTHER OATH TO ALWAYS TRY TO CRAM FOOD INTO YOU LITTLE PEOPLE?”

Externally I said, “Eat your vegetables.” (Ok, truthfully, I had to say this several times.)

Next time, I am SO not bowing to my guilty-momma-conscience.

She is WAY too bossy and I hate the space she takes up in my head.

Next time we are SO having ice cream and chocolate.

Now that’s a dinner we can all agree on.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Guilty-Momma-Conscience

  1. Sarah Guevara on said:

    I personally think FB would be so much more intersting if we all wrote the things that are TRULY on our sleep deprived minds! I’ve tried it a few times for kicks but then get some comments of well-meaning people giving me some advice;) lol Don’t they get that in the end, our Mommy mentality will always win over our own selfish desires? Sometimes I just want to say what I would really like outloud…that’s all…it’s a kind of warped therapy;)

Leave a comment